top of page

"REPETITION + RHYTHM"

In this lecture, we learnt about repetition and rhythm. Repetition means that repeating visual elements such as line, colour, shape, texture or value in an image. Rhythm is the repetition or alternation of elements, often with defined intervals between them. Rhythm can create a sense of MOVEMENT in your photograph. There are various types of rhythm such as flowing, regular, progressive, random and alternating rhythm.​



Based on what we learnt, we were to create 'emotional space' for this topic. To start, we had to choose a picture which shows one particular rhythm among 5 rhythms. For mine, I chose a picture that shows random rhythm and sketched it on my sketch book.

then, I re-sketched with pen to see the lines clearly and I scanned it.




I also had to decide what emotion I should use with chosen rhythm. Since the shape is very dynamic and vibrant, I chose "JOY" as an emotion for this topic. Then, I straight away started to make a space and also made 3 human figures with wire. To deliver the emotion of "JOY" to the viewer, I had to think of colours, composition and postures of human figure as well.





Final Outcomes (various views)

Similarity and Comparison

I placed my emotional space next to my friends' one which looks similar with mine.

Then, I placed my box next to another friends' one which looks completely different with mine. Contrast created by two boxes is really interesting.

Description of My Space

Overall, I was really enjoyed this project 1 and through this project, I gained my basic knowledges about spacial design which can be helpful for my final project. :)




bottom of page