top of page

Exercises!!

Hi all :) This is going to be the last post for 2D T.T

Other than assignments, we also did quite a lot of exercise! We did human & nature sketches, human silhouette, expansion of black squares and marblings :D

1.Human & Nature Sketches

This exercise is about sketch of combination of human & nature. At first we had to sketch with just 'black' then we were to explore more with colours. I realised that even though it's same drawing, if you add colour on it, you can create totally different mood of that drawing. After some colour exploration, we were to do mono print with the sketch. I tried many times but kept on failing mono print :( But, I quite enjoyed this exercise overall :D



2.Human Silhouette

This exercise is about transferring human silhouette into artwork. To start this exercise, I had to choose one picture of human with action such as human playing sport, etc. I printed that pic and traced the outline with tracing paper. We were to explore with different lines (in&out figure), colours and texture. This exercise was really fun to do because I could explore in many different ways such as sewing, smudging pastels, etc. I wish I could explore more with different method that I've never tried :)



3.Expansion of Black Squares

This exercise is about studying symmetry and asymmetry. At first, I really didn't know how to do and how to start. So, I started with some simple ones then slowly developed to complicated ones. Sometimes I was stuck because of the lack of ideas :( but, the more I cut squares, the more ideas came up with naturally. For last one, I tried put marblings behind the black squares. I didn't really expect it to be nice but it looked really nice than just black squares :)

4.Marblings

I tried marbling with nail polish first but, really failed because I didn't use warm water and work slowly :( Then I tried it with gloss paints. At first, I didn’t really know how to do it but the more I tried, the more I got used to do it. So, got to know that spreading paints with a satay stick helps to crate some detailed marblings. Furthermore, I explored with shaving cream too. (please look at last picture :D ) And, I realised that it creates different effects from marblings with gloss paint. I like both techniques but, I prefer marblings with shaving cream because it’s easier to clean up (haha but really true tho). I really enjoyed doing this :)




I'm done with everything!! yay bye bye ><


bottom of page