top of page

Final Assignment : "Monogram"

Hi, all :)


Finally, it's last assignment for 2D!! Since it's our last project and it carries 30% of our total marks, I wanted to do my best for it! For our last project, we had to make our very own personal monogram which reflects our personal style as a person and as a designer.


Before I started to create my monogram, firstly I had to brainstorm about "me myself " and I believe that It helped me a lot to create very personalised own monogram.



Mindmap About Me

Here is a mind map about "Who I Am". In this mind map, I wrote my personality, what I like (my favourites) ,etc. Also, I chose letters that I'll use for my monogram. I chose M and S because my initial is 'M,S'(Min Sol). This mind map helped me to organise my thoughts and think of ideas for monogram!


#Monogram Sketches

Here are monogram sketches:D


I started to sketch with pencils first and then I used black fine liner pen and brush pen to create monogram with different lines and thickness. After that, I moved on to apply some colours in sketches. It brought me some kind of different feelings than sketches with black pens. For fourth sketch, I tried to combine with things I like (inspired by mind map 'who am I' above). However, personally, I didn't really like those because looks so complicated. I wanted my monogram to be simple and black&white. After done enough sketches, I had to choose ONE potential sketch and develop it further :)





#Monogram Developments

I developed chosen monogram sketch on graph paper for accuracy. Also, I tried to develop on black paper and cloth as well. It was really hard to develop the monograms because sometimes I couldn't think of next ideas :/ but, the more I developed, the more ideas came up in my mind.

Finally!! I got my final monogram :)

I really like my monogram because it's kind of symmetrical and letter M & S are well harmonised together.

#Research on Items

I had to brainstorm again for items that are meaningful to me! First, I came up with 7 items.

This is second mind map for final chosen items and transfer methods.

#Evidence of Tool & Material Exploration

I wanted to work with multiple different surfaces and textures. So I explored as much as I could :D

Now Everything is ready and let's transfer my monogram to items!!!

# ITEM 1 : DIY PASSPORT COVER

(surface : fabric - method : embroidery)

My first item is hand-made passport cover. The reason why I chose to make passport cover is because I'm currently out of my country for studying so passport is the important thing to me and Passport basically shows an identity of person as well. Therefore, I thought passport cover is like a clothes of person.




This is how I designed the pattern on fabric. I mixed normal shaving cream and black fabric paint and then, put fabric on it. After 3 minutes, take fabric and remove all access cream and let it dry. It's very simple but an outcome of marble is extremely amazing and beautiful!! :D


# ITEM 2 : DIY STAMP

(surface : lino board - method : carved)


Second item is DIY stamp. I made a stamp for my copy right. Normally I used to put my signature for my artwork but I think stamp is more cool (?haha :>) and more meaningful. You will see how it works in Item 5 below!





# ITEM 3 : LETTERS FROM KOREAN FRIENDS

(surface : melted hot glue - method : stamp)

Third item is letters from my Korean friends. Actually these letters are really really precious to me because they wrote it by hands! In Korea, especially for girls, we usually write a letter to each other for friends's birthday, last day of class and when someone is moving to other school. So, my friends wrote letters when I had to move to Malaysia. I was really touched. Until now, whenever I feel depressed or exhausted, I read letters again to be encouraged myself :) So, I decided to make a big envelope and my monogram is on the seal.






For the envelope, I used same marble technique as item 1. Also, for the seal, I used hot glue stick and crayon(for colouring). Melt hot glue stick and crayon together by gas range. If it's fully melted, pour small amount of it on baking paper (to tear off easily) and stamp with Item 2! (yes my items are connected haha :>). I had quite a lot of fun so I made extra seals with different colours :D







# ITEM 4 : DIY CANDLE

(surface : paper - method : embossed)

Fourth item is DIY candle and the name for this candle is 'time to forgive yourself'. I'm sure that everyone made at least one mistake in their life (right? haha :D). I'm just 19 years old but I already made plenty of mistakes in my life :( Sometimes I think of those mistakes and feel guilty myself but I can't hold those mistakes forever. I need to move on to be grown myself. In other words, I should forgive my mistakes. That's the reason why I made this candle. I used a tag ring and I pasted my embossed monogram on it. At the back side, I wrote my mistakes and pasted.




This is how to use this candle :D

Take one mistake and just burn it! Now my mistake was burned and I forgave me!








# ITEM 5 : SKETCH BOOK

(surface : hard board, paper - method : stamp)


Fifth item is my sketch book :D Those drawings in my sketch book were drawn by me when I had long break time last year (after I graduated high school). Every art works is precious to me :D


I made some patterns on the cover with item 2! (yes yes my items are connected :>) It was fun to stamp actually :)


Also, I tried to stamp on my artwork as well like a copy right stamp! But I already put my signature :( So, next time definitely I'll use my stamp instead of signature.

# ITEM 6 : REMINDER BOARD

(surface : wood - method : stencil)

Finally, this is my last item which is reminder board. To be honest, I'm very forgetful person :( so I really need something to remind important things myself. So, I made my own reminder board. On this board, I wrote "call grandma" because I'm in Malaysia and she is in Korea :( so call is the only way that I can talk to her but when I'm really busy with my assignments, I keep forgetting about it.. That's why I wrote it on the board! I also wrote "1 day 1 drawing". As a designer in the future, I need to improve my drawing skills and If I draw everyday, I'm sure that I can improve further :) So I wrote that to remind myself draw everyday! I wrote my favourite quote "NEVER LOOK BACK" too!

For 'To do' and 'shopping list', I put a plastic sheet on top so that I can erase and write again with white board marker :D


By the way, where is my monogram? Guess where my monogram is hehe :p

It's there!

<HINT>

If you put all wood clips together...

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Voila!! my monogram is here :D

Overall, I really enjoyed this project although I had to spend much time for DIY items. I like my monogram and items as well :) Through this project, I was able to gain some knowledge on transferring designs onto different materials. Also, I got to know there are a lot of transferring methods and I want to try other method in the future. I'm quite satisfied with my explorations but if I had more time then I could explore more and more. I found many interesting methods through this project and tried new things too.








<What I learnt through 2D class for 1 semester...>

Before I learn 2D, I thought only pencil and paint can be used to crate an artwork. But, In assignment 1, 3 and 4, I learnt I can create an artwork with cotton bug, ice-cream stick, sponge and even papers. I learnt I can create an artwork with simple things around me.

Before I learn 2D, I thought I must need some expensive and fancy materials to create nice artwork. But, I learnt just cheap shaving cream is enough to create amazing marble art.

2D made me explore many things. 2D made me think creatively. 2D made me grow up to be an artist.

Even though, there is no more 2D class next semester, I hope I can explore more and more myself.

Lastly,,, Thanks to Mr Choy and 2D class for 1 semester!!!


bottom of page