top of page

Assignment 4: "Paint To Music"

Hi all :)

This is already assignment 4! For this assignment, we had to make artworks based on what we heard from different genre of music. We also had produce 3 pages of black&white lines and shapes exploration, 3 pages of tool and techniques exploration with colour and different textures and 2 final artworks based on one classical music and one contemporary music on A3.



1. Compositional Black and White

These are my explorations of lines and shapes. For these, I mostly listened classical music and tried to express vibe of that music. For some, I tried to follow the rhythm of that music. This was familiar to me because I practiced a lot of mark makings in assignment 3. I used only white and black poster colours :)

2. Tool and Techniques Exploration

These are tool and technique explorations on different surface and texture. I listened mostly K-Pop and Hip hop as well as classical music for this exploration. For this exploration, mostly I used water colour paint. I wanted to explore more about different surface and texture so I explored on tissue and clothes !

Haha I also tried on tracing paper and I think this is really cute :D And, for the Botton one I sticked red tissue paper and tried stencil on it!




3. Final Artworks

This is my final artwork for classical music and I chose 'Schindler's List-Theme' by John Williams.( you can listen it here !) The medium I used for this is acrylic paints on canvas. When I listened this music, I was about to cry because the sound of violin was so sad :( and it gave me the feeling of regret about past. Hence, I painted a big tear drop. Also, I wanted to express 'flow of regretful memories' so I mixed some pastel colours and painted a bit roughly inside the tear drop. I also pasted tissue paper to create different texture (even though not really visible in the pic :/ ) and I painted Prussian blue on it to create a dark and sad mood. I cut out black&white marblings that I did in class into different sized circles , and I pasted them on painted tissue paper. Lastly, I randomly put black gloss paint using a satay stick to emphasise high pitches in music and for 3D effect as well!






This is my final work for contemporary music and I chose 'Crayon' by G-Dragon (you can listen it here!) It's K-Pop and hip-hop genre. When I listened this song, I felt very energetic and exiting. Also, somehow, it reminded me of a festival mood so I used intense colours such as red, blue, yellow etc. Also, I applied white paint on old card and scratched in the middle of paper. I used black gloss paint to express the climax part of this song.


Overall, I really enjoyed this assignment because it was fun to express the emotion/mood of the music with paint and also, I could listen my favourite songs while I was doing assignment! :D

Personally, I like both of my finals but, I think I could do better for classical music because I didn't think of composition. At first, I was a bit scared to start. But, the more I explored the more I understood about 'let it go'. I really want to try this again with my other favourite musics next time :D




BYE BYE ><


bottom of page