top of page

Assignment 1: "Unconventional Self Portrait"

Hi all :)

Finally I've done my first 2D assignment! For the assignment1, firstly, we had to make min. 3 pages of pencil sketches, min. 3 pages of tool and technique exploration and final work on A3 paper.


1. COMPOSITIONAL PENCIL SKETCHES

Here are my pencil sketches :D

For this exercise, we had to sketch our faces which were photo-taken from various angles and various face expressions. I took some pictures of my face from side(left and right), front, top, and bottom. Also, I tried to express some interesting expression like smiling, pouting my lips and opening my mouth. I also tried to zoom in my eyes and lips to observe them better for this sketches. Overall, even though I had to spend a lot of times for it, I think It was a totally good experience to learn how to sketch my face with various angles and facial expressions realistically. I am sure that I was able to improve myself in sketching faces realistically :)




2. TOOL AND TECHNIQUES EXPLORATION

For these explorations, we had to exercise 'lines' with different tools such as an ice-cream stick, straw and cotton bug etc. Before I started this explotation, I had to look for some different tools which can be used for creating an interesting lines. Firstly, I decided to start with pens that have different thickness and I tried to use ice-cream stick, cotton bugs, cap of plastic bottle, straw, plastic tea spoon, toothpick and crumpled paper. For the next one, I tried to make a ZigZag line and some irregular lines with different tools. This time, I used mostly same tools that I have already used for first two pages above but I tried to use the other side of the tool so that I could make another interesting and beautiful lines.


Here are my self-portrait based on the tool exploration! (even though all doesn't look like me :/)

For this exploration, we had to draw our self-portrait by using different tools. I used a single cotton bug for mostly hair. The reason why I chose the cotton bug is because after experiment of lines, I realised that it's easy to handle and it makes really clear lines rather than other tools. Also, for lips and pupils, I put dots to create an interesting lines and effect. I also used an ice-cream stick for lips (second one) and I liked how it came out! For last one, I put dots with crumpled paper for the hair. Personally, I really like how it came out. I also used a fine line pen for other part of face to create soft effect. I realised that a thin tool such as fine liner pen is easier to express detail point than other thick tools such as marker pan and cotton bug. Overall, I really enjoyed this exploration and I really liked how it worked :D


Other than B/W tool explorations, we also had to do some experiments with collages by using newspapers and magazines. Basically my collage works show my personality like who I am and what I like. For the first one, I used newspaper for the hair to make it more interesting and I'm really happy with how it came out! Also, I cut out some images of food that I like from Tesco leaflet. For second experiment, I tried to use black paper to create a sense of contrast on background. I cut out the outline of the side view of my face and left it as white. Also, I printed out some pictures of me into geometric shapes to make collage. I cut out some pictures from magazine which are related to my wish and future dream. Third one is my favourite piece because I think it shows who I am the most. For this one, I used magazines to create my name, age and some features that indicate me. For last one, I found a image of a zip from the magazine and I thought It would create quite unique impression. I think It looks quite interesting :p Throughout this exploration, I had a lot of fun with it! and I found that even though collage takes too long to complete, it is absolutely interesting and creative technique to me.








3. CONTINUOUS LINE DRAWING


For this drawing, we had to draw our friend's face or other people's face with 'continuous line'. For the first one, I drew some of my classmates with marker pen. I don't really like how it came out because the eyes all look the same and all from same angle. I also can say that this drawing is can be predicted and not unique in a way. In my opinion, If I tried with various angles, it would be so much better. For last one, I tried to catch some motion/action of people. I drew a sleeping person on the desk, yawning guy, laughing lady and a girl who resting her chin on her hands. Also, I used some colour pens to draw this. I wished I could play with lines more actively. I think I was too scared of making continuous lines.

Overall, I had a lot of struggles with this continuous line drawing because it didn't work as what I thought and I never tried to draw continuously without pause. However, at the end, I thought it can be more artistic than other normal drawings and I want to try to draw more piece of continuous line drawing :>












# FINAL ART WORK!


For our final art work, we had to create an A3 sized unconventional self-portrait based on an art movement that highly resonated with our personality. I researched on various art movements and I chose to apply 'pop art' for my final artwork. Especially, I researched more about 'pop art text' because I wanted to create a pop art text with my name "Claire". Also, colours that mostly used in pop art(e.g. Red, Yellow, Blue and Orange etc.) give highly active and vibrant impression. Hence, I thought It would match with my personality well because I am kind of energetic and vibrant person (SAYING MYSELF :D)







For the hair, I tried to use newspapers by cutting out them into curved shape so that it looks like a half-curly hair.

<Final Art Work : Unconventional Self Portrait>

For my final art work, I decided to use a similar angle as one of my sketch. The reason why I chose this angle is because I thought it represents the active and vibrant personality the most. Also, I used a fine liner to shade on the face with continuous line (not totally continuous but partly continuous) and I realised that fine liner is good to draw detail lines. Other than that, for the background, I did some collage with images of make-up stuff, clothes and images of part of my face. As I mentioned earlier above, I painted a pop art text with my name by using acrylic paints. Actually, after I drew the outline of it, I realised I forgot to write 'A' but I suddenly thought this mistake could give an effect in a way. So I just wanted to continue on painting. As a result, I'm quite happy with my final work because I applied some skills that I learnt from tools and techniques exploration and I think it worked. Through this assignment, I was able to learn about different art movements and a lot of useful techniques. I feel like I actually enjoyed this assignment 1 :)

BYE BYE :X


bottom of page