top of page

Assignment 2: "Expressive Pattern Design"

Hi all :)

I'm back with assignment 2! Assignment 2 is about creating personal pattern-design. We were to do pencil, pen and colour pencil sketches of research patterns inspired by natural surroundings design or manmade buildings on A3. I also had to explore of patterns using with different personal found object on A3 and final expressive pattern design on A3 :D Personally this assignment made me confuse a lot and didn't really know how to start. So, I had to keep asking friends and lecturer about it :(

1. Pattern Inspired Sketches

Before I create pattern design, I had to go out and observe natural surroundings or manmade buildings and sketch them in 7x7 grid squares. These are my sketches inspired by natural surroundings. At the beginning I was really blur but, the more I drew the more I understood about this sketch!


2. Pattern Design

After sketches, I had to create patterns from object sketches above. I first tried out different explorations on small circles. After I actually understood pattern better, I tried on bigger scale which is quarter of A3.

After I tried out on quarter of A3, I tried on whole A3 paper :) all patterns in this artwork was from surrounding sketches. To explore more, I rotated those patterns to different directions. I kind of like this one because the goose (got inspired by white goose in campus :D) looks so cuteeeeee!!



For next exploration, I tried to add more patterns. I decided to create patterns in Ice-cream! I drew out line of soft ice-cream first and filled up inside with patterns. Also, I drew spoon and fork on background to match with object 'ice-cream'. I liked it until I didn't apply colours :(

#Final Pattern

For the final piece, I wanted to do pattern design on Korean traditional costume 'Hanbok'. Since the beginning, when I heard pattern design, I thought of fashion design and I wanted to try designing patterns on clothes! For the top part, I added patterns from some explorations and for the skirt, I did collage with Korean newspapers. Also, I printed out some greenish patterns and traced with a single tropical leave pattern. Korea isn't tropical country but I used tropical leaves to create 'contrast'.


This is my final pattern design art work :)

I drew some patterns on skirt and I used a bit yellowish red because red is complementary colour of green. So, the green tropical leave looks more outstanding!

Overall, I think I did okay for this assignment 2 but, still don't really like my explorations. And I'm proud of my final out come :D I spent a lot a lot of time for this assignment during mid-sem break but don't really feel like productive for explorations :( Anyways, now I'm waiting for assignment 3 and hope I can do better than this!


Bye Bye ><


bottom of page